June 12, 2007

Mr. James W. Owens Chief Executive Officer Caterpillar, Inc. 100 North East Adams Street Peoria, IL 61629

Dear Mr. Owens,

You recently acknowledged that excessive regulations harm Caterpillar's bottom line, noting in your 2006 Annual Report to Stakeholders that Caterpillar's on-highway truck engine business would drop significantly in 2007 due to new emissions regulations.

That's why we were astonished to see that Caterpillar had joined the United States Climate Action Partnership (USCAP), which seeks to establish a cap-and-trade system for carbon emissions. If such a system is established, many of the industries upon which Caterpillar depends would be harmed.

As you may know, the Congressional Budget Office reported in April that the oil, gas and coal industries – upon which Caterpillar depends for sales – would be particularly hard hit by the establishment of a cap-and-trade system.

For example, a cap designed to reduce emissions by 23% would result in a 54% devaluation of coal stock value and a 40% decline in coal production. Do you think a 40% reduction in coal production is likely to boost or reduce your sales to this industry?

Other Caterpillar customers will be affected, too. How many sales will you be making to farmers if they can make more money from sequestration than from harvesting crops?

Let's be clear about the objectives of some of your coalition partners.

The Natural Resources Defense Council, National Wildlife Federation, and Environmental Defense have a long history of opposing the very industries that are Caterpillar's best customers, often through expensive litigation.

Rather than help deliver your loyal customers to the legal sharks of the environmental movement, Caterpillar should help its customers fight the onslaught of unnecessary emissions caps and regulations that would harm them.

We ask that you immediately withdraw from the United States Climate Action Partnership.

The undersigned represent a diverse group grassroots property rights organizations, think tanks,

page 2

seniors advocates, taxpayer action groups, construction firms, farmers, ranchers and miners – a number of which are current Caterpillar customers.

If Caterpillar can't be loyal to its customers and consumers, perhaps there's no reason to be loyal to Caterpillar.

Sincerely,

David Ridenour Vice President National Center for Public Policy Research

Roger C. Herrera President Northern Knowledge

Paul M. Weyrich National Chairman Coalitions for America

Bruce A. Griffith President Griffith Lumber Co., Inc.

Robert A. Drummond Southern Regional Director Assoc. of Consulting Foresters of America

Greg Blankenship President Illinois Policy Institute

James Martin President 60 Plus

Paul K. Driessen Senior Policy Advisor Congress of Racial Equality

Paul Gessing President Rio Grande Foundation

Mychal Massie Chairman of the Advisory Council Project 21

Richard Falknor Executive Vice-President Maryland Taxpayers Association, Inc.

Bruce Colbert Executive Director Property Owners Assoc. of Riverside County Robert E. Murray Chairman, President & CEO Murray Energy Corporation

Matt Kibbe President FreedomWorks

Myron Ebell Director, Energy & Global Warming Policy Competitive Enterprise Institute

Drew Johnson President Tennessee Center for Policy Research

James W. Jarrell Excavating Contractor Jarrell's Excavating, Inc.

Lew Uhler Founder and President National Tax Limitation Committee

Jeffrey Mazzella President Center for Individual Freedom

John McClaughry President Ethan Allen Institute

Michael H. Smith President Thomas More Institute

Carol LaGrasse President Property Rights Foundation of America

Lenore Barrett State Representative Idaho

Fred Grau Executive Director Take Back Pennsylvania Hon. Edwin Meese, III Former U.S. Attorney General Reagan Administration

J. William Lauderback Executive Vice President American Conservative Union

Hon. Malcolm Wallop Chairman Frontiers of Freedom

Roger Jones Engineer Red River Coal Company, Inc.

Maxine Korman Korman Ranch Hinsdale, Montana

Jerry Fennell Owner, Silver Eagle Mining Co. Chairman, Jicarilla Mining District

Ken Boehm Chairman National Legal and Policy Center

Terrence Scanlon President Capital Research Center

Tim Cranston Director of Operations and Finance Property & Environment Research Center*

Jerry S. Hamilton Environmental Coordinator Formation Capital Corporation, US

Dan Byfield President American Land Foundation

Mark Chmura Executive Director Americans for the Preservation of Liberty C. Preston Noell, III President Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.

Richard Rowland President Grassroot Institute of Hawaii

Chuck Cushman President American Land Rights Association

Timothy La Farge Former Forest Geneticist USDA Forest Service

Dane vonBreichenruchardt President U.S. Bill of Rights Foundation

Eugene Delgaudio President Public Advocate

E. Calvin Beisner Interfaith Stewardship Alliance*

Gary Morrison Farmer

Alan Caruba Author and Columnist

Rachel Thomas American Citizen

Steve Hammond Paladin for Property Rights

Alexandra Mulkern Southern Maryland

Gary Wiggins ESAinfo.org

Judy Boyle Property Rights Activist Idaho

Stephen L. Ralston Columbia, Pennsylvania Linda C. Runbeck President American Property Coalition

Roy Cordato Vice President and Resident Scholar John Locke Foundation

Dr. Walter Block Professor of Economics Loyola University New Orleans

Dr. Michael Sanera Research Director John Locke Foundation

Jim Vogt President Taxpayers for Accountable Government

Robert T. Fanning, Jr. Chairman and Founder Friends of the North Yellowstone Elk Herd

Dennis LaComb Executive Director United Republican Fund

Franklin Cudjoe Executive Director The Centre for Humane Education

Sharon Votow Chair Homestead Land and Water Alliance

Mary E. Darling Principal Owner Darling Environmental and Surveying

Linda C. Runbeck President American Property Coalition

Sarah Foster Columnist WorldNetDaily.com

Paula Easley Anchorage, Alaska

Gilbert Reeves Member Coalition of Arizona/New Mexico Counties

Patrick C. Hughes Computer Clinic Dr. Don Racheter Founder and Moderator Iowa Wednesday Group

Craig Rucker Executive Director Committee for a Constructive Tomorrow

Tom Borelli, Ph.D. Portfolio Manager Free Enterprise Action Fund

John Taylor President Virginia Institute for Public Policy

James C. Vadnais Consulting Forester Port Angeles, Washington

Ron Arnold Executive Vice President Center for the Defense of Free Enterprise

Holt and Jane Hogan Owners Ontario Hardwood Company

Stephen Stone President RenewAmerica

Tom DeWeese President American Policy Center

Marilyn F. Hayman Chairman, Citizens for Responsible Zoning & Landowner Rights, Inc.

Sam Slom President Small Business Hawaii

Brian Bishop Director Rhode Island Wiseuse

Henry McCarthy American Citizen

Leo Schwartz Chairman Virginia Land Rights Coalition

Mark Pollot Boise, Idaho Rance Frye Acquisitions Manager Waterfront Group

* Organization listed for informational purposes only.

For more information, contact: David Ridenour or Peyton Knight The National Center for Public Policy Research 501 Capitol Court, NE Washington, DC 20002 (202) 543-4110 dridenour@nationalcenter.org or pknight@nationalcenter.org